Board Members

21st Century Consort Artistic Director

Christopher Kendall
Founding Artistic Director and Conductor

Christopher Kendall is the recipient of the Smithson Medal as the conductor and artistic director of the 21st Century Consort. The group has performed at the Smithsonian American Art Museum, Nan Tucker McEvoy Auditorium, Smithsonian Hirshhorn Museum, Kennedy Center, Lincoln Center, the Spoleto Festival USA, on tour nationally, and on record for the Bridge, ASV, Centaur, Innova, Delos, Nonesuch, CRI and Smithsonian Collection labels. A televised performance devoted to the music of Aaron Copland won an Emmy Award in 1984.

Prior to his appointment as Dean and Professor of Conducting at the University of Michigan's School of Music, Theatre & Dance in summer 2005, he had served as Director of the School of Music at the University of Maryland since 1996. Earlier, he was Director of the Music Division of the Boston University School of the Arts, and Music Director of the Boston University Tanglewood Institute. He assumed the Boston post following a five-year term as Associate Conductor of the Seattle Symphony where he led that orchestra in concerts of repertoire from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.

Kendall is also the founder and lutenist of the Folger Consort, early-music ensemble-in-residence at the Folger Shakespeare Library. The group performs extensively in Washington, D.C. and has toured and broadcast nationally.

Kendall's guest conducting appearances have included the Seattle Symphony, Dayton Philharmonic, Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Kitchner-Waterloo Symphony (Canada), San Francisco Chamber Orchestra, Music Today, Collage New Music, Dinosaur Annex, New York Chamber Symphony, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Da Capo Chamber Players, and the Orchestra, Symphony and Chamber Orchestra of the Juilliard School.

21st Century Consort Board Officers

Lisa Emenheiser
Concert Pianist
Boyd Sarratt
Managing Director
Michael Hamilton M.D., Oncology
Board Chairman
Louise Seirmarco Yale
Vice Chairman

21st Century Consort Board Members

Alyce Rideout
Retired Harpist
James Bleakley
Dennis Deloria
Jason Geary
Professor of Musicology
Dean of the Mason Gross School of the Arts and Distinguished Professor of Music at Rutgers University
Lee Hinkle
Director, Percussion Ensemble, University of Maryland
H. Paul Moon
Zen Violence Films
Vivienne Patton
John Simson
Executive Director, SoundExchange; Washington College of Law, American University
William Taylor
Professor of Architecture, Howard University
Rachel Young
National Symphony Orchestra (NSO)